• About CIVIC

    CIVIC is a Washington-based non-profit organization that believes the civilians injured and the families of those killed should be recognized and helped by the warring parties involved.

    On this blog, you will find stories from our travels around the world as we meet with civilians and military, aid organizations and government in our quest to get war victims the help they need.

  • Countries

  • Contributors

    Sarah, Executive Director

    Marla B, Managing Director

    Kristele, Field Director

    Liz, Chief Communications Officer

    Trevor, CIVIC's fellow based in Afghanistan

    Chris, CIVIC's fellow based in Pakistan

    Jon, CIVIC's US military consultant

  • Media Content

Signs of Conflict

Posted By: Erica

My personal situation seems very secure here but the signs that I am in conflict zone are all around me. When I first arrived, my hosts told me about an incident earlier that morning in which a warlord, Gen. D, who also held a high ranking position in the government, stormed into a family’s house with his armed guards and killed the family. Supposedly his case is being referred to the Attorney General, although my Afghan hosts doubt this to be the case. Yesterday, press reports suggested that US and NATO raids in the south of Afghanistan against suspected Taliban resulted in the deaths of several civilians, including women and children.

I have set up several meetings and dinners this week with foreign correspondents. I am hoping that these new friends will help me get the tools I need to investigate incidents like this more closely, and also help me to get the CIVIC’s message out.

Leave a Reply

